Ramadan may begin on May 17 in Iran

The Holy month of Ramadan could begin on May 17 this year, exactly seven days from today (May 10), but we’re still waiting on an official announcement from the government in Tehran.

The advent of Ramadan may vary from country to country depending on the situation of the moon. Since the new moon is not in the same state at the same time globally, the beginning and ending dates of Ramadan depend on what lunar sightings are received in each location.

As a result, Ramadan dates vary in different countries, but usually only by a day. This is due to the cycle of the moon.

To learn more about the Holy month check out our Ramadan 2018 section on our website.

What is Ramadan?

Subscribe to our newsletter

The ninth month of the Islamic calendar, Ramadan is a time when Muslims around the world abstain from eating, drinking or smoking between sunrise and sunset.

Lasting about a month, it marks the time when the Qur’an was first revealed to the Prophet Mohammed (PBUH). Extra tarawih prayers are performed at the mosque throughout Ramadan and each evening 1/30th of the holy book is recited. By the end of Ramadan, many observers have read the entire Qur’an.

Fasting is one of the five pillars of Islam, which are the foundation of the religion. The pillars are the framework by which Muslims everywhere live, and Ramadan is considered the holiest time in the Islamic calendar. It is a time for prayer, reflection and religious devotion, to cleanse past sins and to focus on Allah through good deeds.

Sahari and Iftar times during Ramadan in Tehran

Below is the month of Ramadan’s Sahari and Iftar times. According to regulations, all Muslims who are healthy should do Ramadan during the month of Ramadan.

17 May Thursday 04:16 am 8:05 pm
18 May Friday 04:15 am 8:06 pm
19 May Saturday 04:14 am 8:06 pm
20 May Sunday 04:13 am 8:07 pm
21 May Monday 04:12 am 8:08 pm
22 May Tuesday 04:11 am 8:09 pm
23 May Wednesday 04:10 am 8:09 pm
24 May Thursday 04:09 am 8:10 pm
25 May Friday 04:08 am 8:11 pm
26 May Saturday 04:08 am 8:12 pm
27 May Sunday 04:07 am 8:12 pm
28 May Monday 04:06 am 8:13 pm
29 May Tuesday 04:05 am 8:14 pm
30 May Wednesday 04:04 am 8:14 pm
31 May Thursday 04:04 am 8:15 pm
01 June Friday 04:03 am 8:16 pm
02 June Saturday 04:03 am 8:16 pm
03 June Sunday 04:02 am 8:17 pm
04 June Monday 04:01 am 8:17 pm
05 June Tuesday 04:01 am 8:18 pm
06 June Wednesday 04:01 am 8:19 pm
07 June Thursday 04:00 am 8:19 pm
08 June Friday 04:00 am 8:20 pm
09 June Saturday 03:59 am 8:20 pm
10 June Sunday 03:59 am 8:21 pm
11 June Monday 03:59 am 8:21 pm
12 June Tuesday 03:59 am 8:21 pm
13 June Wednesday 03:59 am 8:22 pm
14 June Thursday 03:58 am 8:22 pm
Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time