Public Holidays in Iran (2020)

Public Holidays in Iran in 2020

Iran has several holidays both Islamic and from before the advent of Islam. Nowruz (Persian New Year) is the longest holiday in the country starting March 21 annually. Officially the country is closed for just one week, however, many private businesses will take two weeks vacation.

Date Name Type
6 Jan Monday Funeral of General Qasem Soleimani National holiday
29 Jan Wednesday Martyrdom of Fatima National holiday
11 Feb Tuesday Revolution Day National holiday
8 Mar Sunday Birthday of Imam Ali National holiday
20 Mar Friday March Equinox Season
20 Mar Friday Nowruz (Persian New Year) National holiday
21 Mar SaturdayNowroz (Persian New Year) Nowruz (Persian New Year) National holiday
22 Mar Sunday Nowruz (Persian New Year) National holiday
22 Mar Sunday Nowruz (Persian New Year) National holiday
23 Mar Monday Nowruz (Persian New Year) National holiday
9 Apr Thursday Imam Mahdi’s birthday National holiday
14 May Thursday Martyrdom of Imam Ali National holiday
24 May Sunday Eid-e-Fetr (End of Ramadan) National holiday
25 May Monday Eid-e-Fetr (Additional Holiday) National holiday
17 Jun Wednesday Martyrdom of Imam Sadeq National holiday
21 Jun Sunday June Solstice Season
31 Jul Friday Eid-e-Ghorban (Feast of Sacrifice) National holiday
8 Aug Saturday Eid-e-Ghadir National holiday
28 Aug Friday Tassoua National holiday
29 Aug Saturday Ashura National holiday
22 Sep Tuesday September Equinox Season
8 Oct Thursday Arbaeen National holiday
16 Oct Friday Demise of Prophet Muhammad and Martyrdom of Imam Hassan National holiday
17 Oct Saturday Martyrdom of Imam Reza National holiday
25 Oct Sunday Martyrdom of Imam Hasan al-Askari National holiday
3 Nov Tuesday Birthday of Prophet Muhammad and Imam Sadeq National holiday

Why not sign up for our email list to find out the latest changes in the annual holiday schedule.

Islamic holidays are subject to the sighting of the moon, and dates can change on the Gregorian calendar. 

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More